Kahlua Ice Cream! Oh my!

13 Apr

Kahlua Ice Cream with some yummy toppings!

 

Hello there!

It’s been a while since my last post, huh?  Yeah.  It was a good week though, very busy and very productive, and overall enjoyable!  I sure am happy it’s Friday though, I love my relaxing weekends :)

How was your week?

This past week, my school (Clark University) had something called Spree Day.  It’s a day every year that classes are cancelled, there is a band, and a carnival type thing with bouncy houses, kettle corn and other types of activities.  Normally what happens is most people just drink all day from first thing in the morning until late at night.

In case you don’t know, I’m not that much of a drinker.  That is, I’m not really a fan of/participant in binge drinking. I do, however enjoy a drink or two at dinner sometimes when I’m out for dinner.

This year, I decided that I would just spend my Spree Day doing whatever I wanted to do.

I’m an introvert, so I usually enjoy doing quiet things by myself or in smaller groups of people, and I get tired easily.  I decided that to fully enjoy my final Spree Day and embrace my new found appreciation for my introvert qualities, I would stay home and relax with my roommates, get some work done and make some fun stuff in the kitchen!

I had a wonderful day :)

I did decide that I wouldn’t eliminate alcohol from my day entirely.  Although I’m not a big drinker, I did make a trip to the liquor store to pick up some nips of various alcohol to use in my cooking!  I’ve recently been wanting to make certain recipes that require alcohol, but I don’t usually have it around the house, so I figured I would just get it finally and get a chance to experiment with making sweet things that contained alcohol.

I also stopped by the supermarket for some Easter candy sales…

Yummm.

Here’s what I ended up with from my trip to the supermarket and the liquor store: 

6 Cadbury Creme Eggs

1 Pack of Peeps

1 Bag of Jelly Beans

1 nip of Bailey’s

1 nip of Captain Morgan’s Spiced Rum

1 nip of Kahlua

1 nip of Tres Leche

I decided that these various items would be my cooking challenge to myself in these next few cooking sessions!

The items for the challenge!

 

 

So, this Kahlua Ice Cream started from one of my favorite blogs EVER: www.chocolatecoveredkatie.com

She’s AWESOME.  Her recipes ROCK.  I LOVE her.  I’m slightly obsessed.  Seriously, I am.

She has a lot of YUMMY and HEALTHY and AWESOME ice cream recipes.  Recently, she posted something called “Rated R Ice Cream” 

It was an ice cream recipe similar to some of her others, but it had liquer in it.  I decided this would be the basis for the first recipe of my kitchen challenge!

Kahlua Ice Cream

adapted from Chocolate Covered Katie’s recipe for “Rated R Ice Cream” 

The recipe for my Kahlua Ice Cream is the same as hers, except I adapted it by using a nip of Kahlua in mine.

It’s very easy to make, you simply combine all of the ingredients together in a shallow dish or ice cube trays

Combine it all!

Then comes the hard part.  Being patient!  Being patient after putting the mixture in the freezer and waiting for it to freeze!  Patience can be hard for me, especially when it involves eating something yummy!

There is the Kahlua Ice Cream in our jam packed freezer. The waiting is the hardest part of the recipe!

When the magic moment finally comes, just blend it all in your Vita Mix!

See the link to the “Rated R Ice Cream” recipe for a way to make this without a Vita Mix

This is what I got after I blended mine up….

Mine is definitely not as beautiful as Chocolate Covered Katie's, but I promise it was really yummy!

I decided to jazz it up a little bit…

Some Cool Whip, chocolate syrup, sprinkles and ground up sugar, coffee beans and cocoa that I got from Trader Joe's! YUM.

This recipe makes a HUGE serving of YUMMY ice cream!  Feel free to split it up if you want, I made mine last for two nights!  If you decide not to eat it all in one sitting, just put some plastic wrap over it and put it back in the freezer and then enjoy whenever you like :)

This was a fun thing to make, and it was sooooo good!  Very refreshing!

 

This weekend, I will be working on making some things with my other challenge ingredients, so hopefully I’ll have something yummy and interesting to post once the weekend is over.

 

I hope that this was enjoyable for anyone reading, and that if you make it, you really enjoy it!

 

Also, you should DEFINITELY check out www.chocolatecoveredkatie.com, you will find some truly amazing, delicious and healthy recipes that I’m sure you’ll love and enjoy making!

 

 

What I’m hoping this challenge that I’ve created will do is help me with getting my creative juices flowing in the kitchen.  I hope that by using these ingredients, I will learn some new recipes, techniques and come up with some new ideas or learn more about how to build off a pre-existing idea.

 

This weekend should be fun and full of learning, kitchen experimenting and very messy hands! My favorite kind of weekend :)

Have a great weekend everybody! :)

 

12 Responses to “Kahlua Ice Cream! Oh my!”

  1. Posky April 14, 2012 at 9:09 pm #

    I once made a chocolate beer float and it turned out pretty not that great. This seems like a much better idea.

    Also I like how you jazzed it up. Very festive.

    • katherineb12 April 15, 2012 at 10:13 am #

      That sounds like a fun thing to try *lightbulb* this ice cream recipe is so ridiculously easy and yummy….and versatile!

      And thank you, I think that everything in the world looks much better with some sprinkles on it :)

      • Posky April 15, 2012 at 4:23 pm #

        That is a concept that could get really dirty really fast.

        Be careful.

      • katherineb12 April 16, 2012 at 2:47 am #

        I think you might be right.

        Oh, I will be.

      • Posky April 16, 2012 at 5:09 am #

        If this keeps up I’m going to be back at this blog a lot.

      • katherineb12 April 16, 2012 at 1:03 pm #

        Yes.

        Hope it lives up.

  2. Fraha April 15, 2012 at 12:59 pm #

    I think someone makes a chocolate beer.. That could be interesting….

    • katherineb12 April 15, 2012 at 1:31 pm #

      I’ve had a Chocolate Stout which was really yummy! If I remember correctly, it was a pretty dark beer, but had a really nice and interesting flavor. Yum. :)

  3. digintobooks April 17, 2012 at 7:27 pm #

    YUM! That ice cream looks so good and I love that you don’t need an ice cream maker! Hope you ate those Peeps as a snack while making ice cream -I’ve been inhaling half-priced Peeps ever since Easter’s been over.

    • katherineb12 April 17, 2012 at 9:12 pm #

      Thank you! I highly recommend, very easy and tasty! Peeps are the best. Best. I love after Easter because of the sales! I made a speedy trip to the market right after Easter ended….and I called before I went just to make sure haha

  4. SweetPoet65 / ShortbreadSwee-T May 1, 2012 at 1:42 am #

    Thanks for checking out my site. I Love this Kahlua recipe. I make Kahlua shakes, I pore it over my ice cream with nuts, I pore it in milk over ice, but I have never don this and had it ready and waiting. Great idea. I can’t to view the rest of your site.

    • katherineb12 May 2, 2012 at 8:27 pm #

      No problem, I really enjoyed your site! Thanks for giving mine a look! This ice cream is yummy. Kahlua is so yummy and rich.. Mmmmm…

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

