Peeps Krispie Treats

17 Apr

Peeps Krispie Treats

Hello everyone!

I hope that everybody had a fantastic weekend.

I know I did.

Wanna know what I did?

I made some creations in the kitchen, tried out some ideas, watched some movies, lounged around, watched tv shows on Netflix and just took it easy.  My kind of weekend.  It was nice :)

I got a chance to try out some ideas that I had for some tasty creations.  I am sorry to say that they resulted in failures.  I was so discouraged and so frustrated at these failed ideas that I needed a serious pep talk.

Jay gave me one.  She’s good at that.

After my pep talk, I took a look around my kitchen cabinets and drawers in an attempt to find something to use for creating yumminess.  In my search, I found a pack of rice cakes that I bought at Trader Joe’s last week.  I ate one (it was so good) I was looking at the package of Peeps on the kitchen counter.  I suddenly got an idea.

A simple, but versatile and yummy idea.

Rice Krispie Treats.

I thought about what went into a standard rice kirspie treat…butter, marshmallows and of course, Rice Krispie Cereal.

I though about what a Peep was…

A marshmallow with some colorful sugar all over it that is in a cute shape.

It’s a shape that makes me feel extra amused and simultaneously a little badly about watching melt or puff up in the microwave, an activity that took place over here this past weekend.

PEEPS!

After this thought process, I realized that I had to try this out for myself to counter my kitchen fails of the day.

And that, my friends, is how the idea for Peeps Krispie Treats came to be.

I have to say, I’m glad I did it.  I needed to have a success, I was getting discouraged.

And with that, I give you…

Peeps Krispie Treats

Here’s What You Need:

2 tbsp of Smart Balance Light (you can use regular butter or another type of light margarine, this is just what I had, and I like to reduce fat whenever possible)

3 cups of Rice Krispies Cereal

2 packs of Easter Peeps (aka 4 trays, 20 individual Peeps)  you have to use the Chicks or else the recipe won’t work.  Just kidding, use whatever kind of Peeps you have, you can even use marshmallows if that’s what you have

Here’s What You Do:

First, spray a pan with cooking spray.  Be very generous with the spray, I made a batch before these and didn’t use enough spray and man, oh my was it difficult to get those suckers out!

For the pan, I used an 8” x 11” glass pan and ended up with 14 squares.  You can use a smaller pan if you want them to be extra thick.

Now, preheat oven to 350.  There’s plenty of recipes for no-bake rice krispie treats, but I wanted mine to be crispy, crunchy and chewy, so I decided to bake them.  I feel like this made them a little less sticky and a bit easier to handle.

Alright, now combine your Peeps and Smart Balance/butter in a pot on the stove at medium/low heat (for me, this was level 3/4)

Look at those little guys! Even though you only see one container of Peeps here, I did use two. I just added them in at different times. Add both containers at the same time, or staggered, it really makes no difference

And then, it starts to get really fun

Melting. Peeps. Awesome.

But wait, it gets better

Meltier Peeps!

Would you believe me if I told you it gets even better…

Even meltier Peeps.

As your Peeps and butter/Smart Balance mixture melt, stir occasionally.

Stir the Meltiest Peeps.

And now, add in your 3 cups of Rice Krispies Cereal

Once you have stirred in your Rice Krispies cereal and it is fully mixed with the melted Peeps, move to the pan that you greased earlier

If you want to get crazy you can top them with jellybeans. 

I got really crazy. 

And then, put these treats into the oven!

My oven was full of treats!

I baked mine for around 15 minutes or so.

**Keep in mind, I like mine really crunchy/crispy/chewy/hard, which might not be ideal for everybody.  Keep track of their time in the oven to get them the way you want.  I would start with five minutes and then check and see if it’s what you want.  Remember, you can always put them back in after they’ve cooled if they’re not how you want them.**

Take the treats out of the oven, let them cool (the hardest part ever), then cut, and serve and enjoy. 

Look at those Peeps Krispie Treats!

I decided that for this entry, I would try to take some really interesting pictures.

To do this, I used some characters that live in my common room…

Meet Peanut, my dancing cat speaker.

He wanted the one with the pink jellybean.

Meet the wooden Armadillo that my dad got for me from Mexico when I was in high school.

This is what my roommate, Taylor saw when he walked in yesterday. He saw me taking this photo. He looked at me and said, "what are you doing, Kate?" I looked up and said, "I'm...taking a picture.." Living with me can be exciting in a non-exciting way. And weird.

Now, I am going to spend my day working on various assignments for classes that all seem to be due very close together!  It’s my last semester ever of undergrad, so I might as well go out with a bang, right?

Of course, I’ll probably take some breaks to make some stuff in the kitchen.  These treats were fun and easy and can be very versatile!  I plan on experimenting with their versatility in the days to come.

Yesterday, it was almost 90 degrees!  That’s crazy for New England weather this early!  I took full advantage of it and sat outside in my bathing suit to work on some stuff for class.  I try to wear sunscreen whenever I lay out in the sun, so I made sure to put on some spray sunscreen before I went out.

Later, I looked in the mirror and saw some red on my arm.  I continued to look at my back, pulled the back of my shirt down and saw something scary.  

INSANE SUNBURN!  

Look at the details from my bathing suit!

That’s only part of it.  There was some more on my back down by hip, and of course there was a big burned spot on the bottom of my rear on the right side.  Not the left side too,  just the right side.

Youch.

And I leave you with that final image of part of my sunburn.

I hope that this has been fun, festive and enjoyable for everyone reading.

I wish you the best of luck in making these treats or any other treats/confections/sweets/savories/meals that you prepare in the future!

Have fun with these Peeps Krispie Treats!  You can add all kinds of fun stuff to them  like sprinkles, chocolate chips, candies….and you can even be totally crazy and use Peeps bunnies instead of Chicks if you want…if you wanna be that crazy.

Have a marvelous day! :D
7 Responses to “Peeps Krispie Treats”

  1. caitlingaudette April 18, 2012 at 6:53 am #

    Peeps + Butter…oh my goodness that looks incredible.

    • katherineb12 April 18, 2012 at 10:26 am #

      thank you! they’re yummy. and super easy! i highly highly recommend!

  2. Tiffany April 24, 2012 at 5:37 pm #

    HAHAHAH omg, Kate, I just laughed so hard at the photos you posted on this entry. first of all, I have to admit that I had a terrible, messy image when you described the treat to me on the phone.. and you know how messy foods stress me out haha… but these look amazing!! the melting peeps look SO funny, too, since they look like little green creatures melting! And the Peanut the music cat holding the treat LMFAO. Sunday I showed Cassidy the “Black and Yellow” video of Peanut that you sent me last year, and it was such a pleasant surprise to see him again on your blog!! and the ARMADILLO. You are just so funny, and I love you SO much!!!

    • katherineb12 April 27, 2012 at 6:08 pm #

      HAHAHHAHAHHA that’s the BEST video ever. I’m glad you shared with the little one :)

      I figured Peanut and the armadillo deserved a little internet exposure, right?
      I’ll make you some sort of rice krispie treat you come in less than a month!! :D
      i love you too!!

  3. Tiffany April 24, 2012 at 5:39 pm #

    and… “Living with me can be exciting in a non-exciting way. And weird.” hahaha i can vouch for that.. never a dull moment living with you :) full of giggles and increasingly loud voices

  4. sybaritica May 26, 2012 at 2:14 am #

    What a great innovation on a classic

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

