Bailey’s Hot Cocoa Rice Krispie Treats

23 Apr

Bailey's Hot Cocoa Rice Krispie Treats!

Bonjour, tout le monde!

That’s a little Francais for you, it means, Hello everyone!

I speak French, did you know?  I took it from eighth grade through high school, and then some in college too.  In total I’ve taken French classes for about seven years.  

Anyway, that’s a fun fact about myself on this Monday morning.

How was your weekend?  Do anything special?  I did.  Well, maybe it wasn’t special in the typical or exciting sense.

I got SO MUCH WORK DONE!! 

I know, I know, I’m a pretty boring college kid by most standards, but seriously, SO MUCH WORK!  I made myself a little to do list and plan for how I was going to start getting to work on my final assignments (not just of the year, but of my entire undergraduate college career!)  It just so happens that I have three big, important final assignments/exams due very close together…an 8 page paper due on Thursday, a final on Thursday, and a comprehensive accounting exam next monday.  

Eeek!

Oh, and then I have one more 8 page paper due on May 7, plenty of time to get my thinking and planning done.

I’ve been doing a lot of thinking/planning about this paper due on Thursday; 8 pages isn’t too bad, but I’m SO invested in this paper, so I really want it to be great.

Before the weekend started I made a list for myself, this list was my plan for the weekend:

  • Finish making marketing flashcards
  • Think/plan/work on tourist paper (the class is called the Cinematic Treatment of the Tourist, and it’s been really great).

On Saturday, I had finished my flashcards using StudyBlue, the absolute best thing to ever happen to studying (if you’re studying anything, even things not for school, but for personal enrichment etc, use this…it’s amazing and it’s free).

I checked finish marketing flashcards off my list. 

Yay!

I started to think more about my Cinematic Treatment of the Tourist paper, I took some more notes on it in a more formal outline style (as opposed to my usual stream of consciousness huge paragraph style of notes) using Evernote.  In case you don’t know, Evernote is the best thing to ever happen to people who take notes, make lists, make reminders, etc, it’s super convenient and I highly recommend it.

I checked work on Tourist paper off my list. 

Yay!

Between finishing these two big bullet points on my to-do list, I took a little break.  I mean, I’d earned it by the time I finished making marketing management flashcards, right?

I made something.

I made something tasty.

In the kitchen.

Bailey’s Hot Cocoa Rice Krispie Treats

I know, I know, I made Peeps Krispie Treats last post.  But trust me when I say that these are super special and different.  After I made the Peeps Krispie Treats, I realized just how versatile and wonderful Rice Krispie Treats are, you can really do a lot with them…they’re like the color of shirt that goes with everything.  Know what I mean?

So, even though this is a similar recipe to last week’s, I think you’ll like it, it’s chocolately, sticky, chewy, hot cocoa-ey, Bailey’s-ey. 

Yes, I made those last two up.

So here you go, I share with you this recipe for

Bailey’s Hot Cocoa Rice Krispie Treats

Here’s What You Need:

2 tbsp Smart Balance Light (or regular butter, I like to reduce fat when I can)

3 cups Rice Krispies Cereal or Off-Brand

3 tsp Bailey’s Irish Cream (or more or other kind of liquor like kahlua!)

2 cups marshmallows (I used mini because that’s what I had around the house, I think either size would be fine, I can’t imagine a huge different)

1 envelope of hot cocoa mix (any kind you would like, I used reduced sugar because it’s what I had around the house)

Here’s What To do:

First, preheat your oven to 350 degrees 

Now, grease a pan very well–you don’t want these sticking, they’re hard to get out when they stick.  I used some Pam Spray, but I’m sure butter or oil would work, I just find it easier to spray and spray and spray.

I used an 8” x 11” glass pan and I ended up with 12 treats, but I should say that my treats were varied thickness and size.  They were quite irregular, the mixture does not cover the entire pan, but it was the best option that I had.  If you don’t mind kind of strange looking treats that are different sizes and shapes, then go ahead with this size, but if you want them to be uniform, I’d go with a smaller size pan.

I can’t wait to have a fully stocked kitchen with all the sizes of pans I could ever want…

Okay, now that that stuff’s done, put your 2 tbsp Smart Balance Light (or butter) in a pot on the stove on low/medium heat.  For me this is at about 3/4

I like to watch it melt, it's pretty fun...

Now, add in your 3 cups of marshmallows!

I happen to think that marshmallows are ADORABLE. How about you?

Stir your marshmallows and Smart Balance Light/butter as it melts 

It almost looks like melted clouds...
or something...

It’s getting awfully melty….

You might know this already, but I like melty things.

When your marshmallow/butter/smart balance light mixture is smooth or almost smooth, add in your envelope of hot cocoa

Like this…

And stir

Stir really well!

Make sure you stir well so the hot cocoa mix is fully incorporated

Now, just add in your 3 tsp (or more!) or Bailey’s Irish Cream or other liquor

I would LOVE to try this with Kahlua! I bet it'd be pretty yummy...

And then, stir so the Bailey’s is fully mixed in with your cocoa/butter/marshmallow mixture

Now comes the crunchy part of the process. Add 3 cups of Rice Krispies Cereal

Sorry this picture is blurry :( it's hard to take photos and cook at the same time!

Stir in Rice Krispies Cereal so it is fully mixed

Transfer your Bailey’s Hot Cocoa Rice Krispie Treats mixture to your pan

And then, put it in the oven!

See you soon, Bailey's Hot Cocoa Rice Krispie Treats!

Bake at 350 degrees for 10 minutes

If you want them super crispy, you can bake for longer, I just wanted a less crispy change of pace since I recently made super crispy Peeps Krispie Treats

Finally, it’s time. 

Yes, it’s that magic moment.

That moment when you can take out your Bailey’s Hot Cocoa Rice Krispie Treats from the oven.

The only bad thing about this magic moment, is that it’s followed by another highly un-magic waiting period. 

What are you gonna do?  You certainly wouldn’t want to burn yourself on these!  That’d be bad :(

Once your treats have cooled, cut them up into whatever size squares you would like.

And then..

munch on them! :D 

Happy munching!

Close up shot of these little treats

If you want, you can share them.

I’ve gotten much better at sharing over the years thanks to my best friend Tiffany (she’s in my about me section if you’re curious about our long history).  I’m an only child, so naturally I’ve had issues with sharing.

As I said before, I’ve gotten much better at it; however, I recently had a nightmare that Tiffany ate one of my three Cadbury Cream Eggs.  The fact that this was a nightmare makes me realize that I  may still have some sharing issues…

These Bailey’s Hot Cocoa Rice Krispie Treats weren’t the only thing created over here this weekend. 

Look at these cool shoes!!!

Taylor and Jay bought white shoes and painted them.  They worked on them all weekend!  

And you know what?

They’re still not done!  They’re putting a lot of time into their custom shoes.  It’s really cool to watch them work on them so diligently, it takes so much concentrationdedication, creativity, imagination and a steady hand.  

There’s been some modifications to these shoes since this photo was taken, but they still look amazing.  

I hope that if you make these Bailey’s Hot Cocoa Rice Krispie Treats, they turn out very well and very yummy for you!  If you do something different with these, let me know, I’d love to hear your own creative modifications on the recipe and how the results turned out for you!

Remember how I said that those treats weren’t the only thing created this weekend?  Well, the shoes were also created this weekend, but something else was made too…

Something sweet,tasty, and sugary.  

^That’s just a little preview of my next post that is soon to be created this week as I get more work done on my paper and exams. :)

You know how I mentioned earlier that I’ve taken French classes for about seven years?  Well, I’m still not quite fluent.  I would love to become fully fluent in French, it has to be so awesome and rewarding to be fluent in more than one language.  I’ve made it a project of mine to practice my French so I don’t forget any of it, and hopefully I’ll improve!

I want to learn so many languages.  I think soon, I’m going to try to learn Mandarin, Michael got us Rosetta Stone for Mandarin while he was in China a few weeks ago.  It’s going to be very difficult, but I think it’ll be interesting to give it a try; hopefully I retain some of it! :)

Do you speak any other languages? Which ones? Are there any languages you want to learn?

 

 

Have an awesome day, everybody!  I’m off to study my flashcards and work on my paper for Thursday!

 

Looking forward to sharing my next post!

7 Responses to “Bailey’s Hot Cocoa Rice Krispie Treats”

  1. caitlingaudette April 23, 2012 at 1:00 pm #

    Those were the types of weekends I feared the most, but you were able to get work done AND make it fun! I am super impressed! Thanks for the StudyBlue link I’m going to check that out! Ps. I have been craving rice krispie treats all week, but special rice krispie treats…I wonder why…. ;)

    • katherineb12 April 23, 2012 at 2:41 pm #

      thanks! it was a little tricky, but it just required some planning. and caffeine. of course. StudyBlue is amazing, you’ll love it. And glad I could help with the special rice krispie treats! it’s amazing what you can do with liquor and desserts!

  2. digintobooks April 23, 2012 at 9:58 pm #

    I have to say the peeps rice krispies would win for me in a toss-up but both variations look delicious! Hopefully I’ll get a chance to try them out soon! And I totally agree-those mini marshmallows are adorable.

    • katherineb12 April 24, 2012 at 10:40 am #

      I appreciate your feedback! I think the jellybeans on the peeps treats add some pizazz, plus being made with peeps is a special feature. Mini marshmallows are probably below kittens, puppies and babies on the cute things list–it’s pretty hard to come that close to the top three!

  3. Shannon May 13, 2012 at 4:19 pm #

    These look soooooo good!! :)

    • katherineb12 May 13, 2012 at 4:27 pm #

      thanks! they had a really interesting flavor to them! in a good way of course, I just thought that the hot cocoa mix and the bailey’s had to be a good idea since the two taste so good together in liquid form :)

      • Shannon May 14, 2012 at 12:46 am #

        Smart thinking!!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

