Caramel Apple Cider Rum Sponge Cake

3 May

Hi there!

Oh, hello!

How are you?

 

It’s finals week here at Clark University.  For me, this entails only one paper.  One final paper for my entire undergraduate career!  Ahh!  I had two exams and another paper, but they were all finished before finals week started.  I have SO MUCH free time right now, it’s amazing…with only one paper due on May 7, life is good!

Between doing research for this paper, I have had a chance to give something a try.  Something that I had been thinking about and considering for a while now…

 

For a Christmas gift, Tiffany and her younger sister Cassidy gave me Hot Apple Cider K-Cups.  YUM!  I do LOVE hot apple cider.  The only thing is that I don’t think I’ll be able to finish the entire pack by the time I move out of my suite (I’m trying to use up all of my food etc before I leave since I don’t know where I’m going and don’t want to bring food with me).  I’ve had this reoccurring idea of using a K-Cup or two to make something yummy and sweet.

I finally did it.

 

I’m not sure if you remember me mentioning this a month or so ago, but for my and Michael’s two and a half year anniversary, he told me to order a few cookbooks for myself as a gift.  I ordered three, one of which was the awesome Perfect Light Desserts: Fabulous Cakes, Cookies, Pies, and More Made with Real Butter, Sugar, Flour, and Eggs  by Nick Malgieri and David Joachim  (What a mouthful of a title huh?)

This book is amazing, has wonderful recipes for delicious desserts that are all low in fat, carbs, calories, and still taste amazing.

I’ve been wanting to try and make a vanilla cake with Apple Cider mix in it, so I found a delightful recipe in this book for “Raspberry Mousse Cake,” a sponge cake layered with a raspberry mousse.  It looks delicious and refreshing.  I decided that the base of my experiment would use the sponge cake in this recipe.

It took two tries, but I eventually got it.  I’m pretty pleased with how it turned out, and I hope that anyone who makes it is pleased as well :)

 

 

Caramel Apple Cider Rum Sponge Cake

Recipe adapted from “Raspberry Mousse Cake,” from Perfect Light Desserts: Fabulous Cakes, Cookies, Pies, and More Made with Real Butter, Sugar, Flour and Eggs, by Nick Malgieri and David Joachim

 

Here is What You Need for the Cake:

4 large eggs, separated

2/3 cup sugar, divided*

1 teaspoon vanilla extract

Pinch of salt

1 cup all-purpose flour (spoon flour into dry-measure cup and level off)

Half a packet (or K-Cup) of Apple Cider mix

*The original recipe called for 3/4 cup of sugar, divided.  I used a little less sugar just to reduce the calories/sugar even more.  Feel free to go with the original 3/4 cup of sugar if you would like :) 

 

 

Here’s What You Need for the Frosting

6 tbsp 1/3 Less Fat Cream Cheese (or regular)

1 1/2 cups Powdered Sugar

2 tbsp (or more, or less) Trader Joe’s Fleur de Sel Caramel Sauce (or any kind of caramel sauce, but I highly recommend this one, it’s delicious)

1/2 Packet (or K-Cup) Apple Cider Mix

A little bit of rum (I used Captain Morgan’s Spiced Rum) 

 

To make the frosting, mix the cream cheese and powdered sugar with an electric mixer until it is creamy and mixed together fully.  Then, add in half a packet (or K-Cup) of Apple Cider Mix, Caramel Sauce and rum (to taste).  Keep mixing together until everything is combined, and taste test occasionally to see if you would like any more rum or caramel or cider :)

 

Here’s What You Do:

Preheat your oven to 350 degrees F

Grease a cake pan, I used an 9.5 inch round pan

 

Separate your 4 eggs into two separate mixing bowls, and then lightly whisk your egg yolks to break them up a little bit

Alright, you four, break it up!!!

 

 

And then, whisk in half the sugar in a stream, followed by the vanilla  extract.

Although you can’t see it, there is sugar in there! This is before the vanilla, it’s hard to take pictures with one hand!

 

Now, whisk the yolks with an electric mixer until they are pale and aerated like this…

I just love how these yolks look!

It should take about a minute of whisking to get the yolks like that^

 

Okay, now combine your four egg whites and pinch of salt in a bowl, and whip with en electric mixer until they are white, opaque and starting to hold their shape like this…

Shape up, you guys!

 

Now, add in the other half of your sugar in a slow stream while continuing to whip the egg whites.  Do this until they hold a firm peak.  For this step, I stop occasionally and do the firm peaks check!

 

You know your egg whites, salt and sugar mixture is holding a firm peak when…

 

Now comes the time when you need to put your egg yolks and your egg whites together!  It’s getting exciting!

 

With a rubber spatula, fold the yolk mixture into the egg white mixture

Sorry about the fuzzy image, it’s hard for me to get a steady hand! This is more fun than folding laundry, that’s for sure!

 

Now, sift 1/3 of flour over this lovely egg mixture, and proceed to fold it in until it’s combined

 

Once combined, repeat with the remaining thirds of the flour until combined, and you have a wonderful looking cake batter!

 

 

Now comes the apple cider part of the recipe…

Fold in 1/2 a pack (or K-Cup) of Apple Cider Mix 

 

 

And then, put the batter into your cake pan gently

And bake for about 30 minutes, or until the cake is firm, well risen and a fork/toothpick comes out clean when a hole is poked into the center of the cake

 

Once it is done baking, immediately invert it onto a rack to cool!

You don’t need to put wax paper down, I just did it out of habit for some reason. Waiting for the cake to cool is so hard :(
But TOTALLY worth it!

 

Once the cake has cooled, poke some holes in the top of it and drizzle some rum over it!  After that, frost it with the Caramel Apple Cider Rum Cream Cheese Frosting (what a mouthful!)

Hmm..I wonder what happened to that piece…

And then, enjoy :)

 

Take a bite!

 

Don’t mind if I do…

Look at how gooey the frosting is..yummm…

 

It’s like a glass of Rum and Caramel Apple Cider. But in a cake!

 

A thing to remember about this cake…make sure that you cover it!  I left it out overnight uncovered, and lost a piece to  staleness :(  I salvaged the rest of the cake by proceeding to cover it with some aluminum foil, it doesn’t stick as much as saran wrap so you won’t lose as much of the yummy frosting to the covering!

 

With all of this free time I have now, I’ve been trying out all kinds of things in the kitchen, so hopefully I’ll finalize some ideas into successful and yummy treats to share with everyone in the not so distant future :)

 

I hope that everybody has a wonderful day! I know that I’ve really been enjoying my relaxing time.

 

In other good news, Michael got back to San Diego yesterday from Semester at Sea!!!  I’m so excited because I am sure his family missed him SO MUCH!  Annnnnd this also means that he’ll be back here in Massachusetts with me soon!  Yay! :D I haven’t seen him since January!  Whoa! I’m so excited!!!

 

I better go work on this final paper for college…how insane is that?  Where did the past four years go?  I have no idea, but I know I’m going to miss them!

 

Have an awesome day, I hope this recipe was enjoyable for you, and that if you make it, it turns out well and yummy!  Give me any feedback you have, it really helps! :)

 

Au revoir, mes amis! 

4 Responses to “Caramel Apple Cider Rum Sponge Cake”

  1. Anna @ The Guiltless Life May 9, 2012 at 12:23 am #

    This looks amazing Katherine! Such great use of flavours :). I grew up with rum cakes (I’m from the Caribbean) – so I love seeing rum cake recipes!

    • katherineb12 May 9, 2012 at 2:05 pm #

      glad you liked seeing it! I’d love to try a rum cake from the caribbean…that sounds amazing!

  2. Manda Kay May 10, 2012 at 2:01 pm #

    This looks good! Anything with rum in it can’t be bad :) Hope your finals went well–I so do not miss those days!

  3. caitlingaudette June 2, 2012 at 12:52 am #

    oh yum!! This looks so good! Sounds like you are going to have a great summer!! Did you graduate already or is it this month? Either way congratulations!!!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

